Olive Bushshrikes

Staff, Students & Associates
Staff & Student Pages


Wanting to study further?

We're always looking for students! Please visit the Study Opportunities page for details....

Not sure who to contact? Try the Contact Us page.


Fitz Alumni

Sociable Weaver
Staff, Students & Associates

Staff, Students & Associates

Below are the links to the biographies of the staff, students and associates of the Fitz. Because of the nature of the Institute and the people that constitute it, staff and students may be away for much of the time. While this has its advantages in terms of office space it can be frustrating, so, if you have difficulty reaching someone at the Fitz, please contact the Departmental Administrator.

Prof. Peter G. Ryan - Professor

Academic Staff
Dr Arjun Amar - Senior Lecturer
Prof. Tim M. Crowe - Professor
Prof. David Cumming
- Honorary Professor
Prof. Graeme Cumming - Pola Pasvolsky Chair in Conservation Biology

Research Staff
Dr Phoebe Barnard - Honorary Research Associate
Dr Rita Covas - Research Associate
Dr W. Richard J. Dean - Research Associate
Dr David Grémillet - Honorary Research Associate
Dr Andrew Jenkins - Research Associate
Dr Grant Joseph - Research Associate
Dr Rob Little - Manager: DST/NRF Centre of Excellence
Dr Azwianewi Makhado - Research Associate
Dr Antoni Milewski - Research Associate
Prof. Sue Milton
- Research Associate
Dr Lorien Pichegru - Honorary Research Associate
Dr Martim Pinheiro de Melo - Research Associate
Dr Amanda Ridley - Honorary Research Associate
Dr Lizanne Roxburgh - Research Associate
Dr Rob Simmons - Honorary Research Associate
Dr Claire Spottiswoode - Research Associate
Anthony van Zyl - Research Associate
Dr Ross Wanless - Honorary Research Associate

Support Staff
Chris Tobler - Principal Technical Officer
Cassie Carstens - Project Assistant, Southern Ground-Hornbill Conservation Project
Kate Carstens - Project Manager: Southern Ground-Hornbill Conservation Project
Christine Moore - Project Manager: Spatial resilience of protected areas
Hilary Buchanan - Departmental Administrator (PFIAO)
Tania Jansen - CoE Secretary (PFIAO)
Anthea Links - Departmental/Accounts Assistant
Margaret Koopman - Library Manager
Phelisa Hans - Library Assistant

Centre of Excellence Team Members
Prof. Peter G. Ryan - Acting Director
Prof. Graeme Cumming - Pola Pasvolsky Chair in Conservation Biology
Dr Rob Little - CoE Manager
Tania Jansen - CoE Secretary
Dr Arjun Amar  - Project Leader
Prof. Tim M. Crowe - Project Leader
Dr Paulette Bloomer - External Project Leader (University of Pretoria)
Dr Rauri Bowie  - External Project Leader (Museum of Vertebrate Zoology, University of 
Assoc. Prof. Andrew McKechnie - External Project Leader (University of Pretoria)
Dr Colleen O'Ryan - External Project Leader (Department of Molecular and Cell Biology, UCT)
Dr Pierre Pistorius - External Project Leader (NMMU)

Conservation Biology MSc Lecturers (2014)
Dr Arjun Amar (PFIAO, Biological Sciences, UCT)
Assoc. Prof. Colin Attwood (Dept Biological Sciences, UCT)
Dr Guy Balme (Director, Leopard Program, Panthera)
Dr Jacqui Bishop (Dept Biological Sciences, UCT)
Prof. John Bolton (Dept Biological Sciences, UCT)
Dr Peter Carrick (Plant Conservation Unit, Dept Biological Sciences, UCT)
Dr Woody Cotterill (University of Stellenbosch)
Prof. David Cumming (Honorary Professor, PFIAO)
Prof. Graeme Cumming (PFIAO, Biological Sciences, UCT)
Dr Lindsey Gillson (Dept Biological Sciences, UCT)
Prof. Timm Hoffman (Dept Biological Sciences, UCT)
Assoc. Prof. John Hoffmann (Dept Biological Sciences, UCT)
Prof. Jeremy Midgley (Dept Biological Sciences, UCT)
Dr Cecile Reed (Dept Biological Sciences, UCT)
Prof. Peter G. Ryan  (PFIAO, Biological Sciences, UCT)
Dr Gladman Thondhlana (Department of Environmental Science, Rhodes University)
Dr Jane Turpie (Anchor Environmental Consultants)

Postdoctoral Fellows
Dr Steve Boyes
Dr Timothée Cook
Dr Susan Cunningham
Dr Alta De Vos
Dr Tom Flower
Dr Eleonore Hellard
Dr Alan Lee
Dr Kristine Maciejewski
Dr Ralf Mullers
Dr Martha Nelson-Flower
Dr Tim Reid

Dr Antje Steinfurth

Doctoral Students
Julia Baum
Kate Carstens
Hayley Clements
Owen Davies
Marie-Sophie Garcia-Heras
Dominic Henry
Potiphar Kaliba - submitted Feb 2014
Sonja Krüger
Tshifhiwa Mandiwana-Neudani - submitted Nov 2013
Alistair McInnes
Lisa Nupen - submitted Feb 2014
Chevonne Reynolds
Margaux Rat
Dominic Rollinson
Gareth Tate

Tanja van de Ven
Rowen van Eeden
Otto Whitehead

Masters Students (Dissertation)
Jessie Berndt
Philna Botha
Ben Dilley
Davide Gaglio
Lisle Gwynn - submitted Feb 2014
John Heydinger
Amanda Kyne
Corlia Meyer
Dane Paijmans
John Pallett

Jenni Roberts
Noelle Tubbs
Minke Witteveen
Blair Zoghby

Conservation Biology Masters Students (2014/15)
Salamatu Abdu

Alex Atkins
Bruce Baigrie
Jenna Bowker
Kate Cronin
John Dickens
Rhiân Ebrey
Marcela Espinaze
Francesca Fazey
Liezl le Roux
Juan Millan

Binah Motlogelwa
Allie Russo
Dara Sands

Conservation Biology Masters Students (2013/14)
Nadia De Souza
Kirsten Gallaher
Rukaya Johaadien

Submitted Feb 2014
Wesley Bell
Jordan-Laine Calder
Greg Campbell
Elliot Kinsey
Zanne Labuschagne
Phil Massie
Robyn Milne
Frances Morling
Phenias Sadondo
Tabitha Stokes

External (Co-supervised) Students

Sabrina Engesser - Zurich

David Humphries - Maquarie
Matthieu Paquet - Montpellier
Ben Smit - Pretoria
Martin Stervander - Lund
James Westrip - Edinburgh
Elizabeth Wiley - Western Australia

Masters by dissertation
Lara Broom - Porto
David Green - NMMU
Asefu Mitiku - Pretoria
Gavin Rishworth - NMMU
Maxine Whitfield - Pretoria

Visiting Students

Judith Ament (Fox Research Fellow 2013-2014)

2013 Graduates

Sharon Okanga
Jessica Shaw
Alex Thompson

Mia Cerfonteyn

Conservation Biology MSc
Daniël Cloete
Lea Cohen
Kimon de Greef
Katherine (Kat) Forsythe
Jessica Greenston
Craig Harding
Wade Lane

Vera Liebau
Christine (Chrissie) Madden
Jayaneesh (Jah) Namah

Heinz Ortmann
Louise (Lou) Palframan
Koebraa Peters
Kirsten Retief
Carolyn (Caz) Sanguinetti

Last modified: 2014/04/04
Copyright: Percy FitzPatrick Institute of African Ornithology 2013
Please address any comments or enquiries about this website to the page coordinator.