Search

Home > Fitz News > Current News

Current News

Current News

.

Wednesday, April 26, 2017 - 11:00

Tygerberg Bird Club have pledged R20,000 towards Dr Megan Murgatroyd's Verreaux's Eagle research.

Friday, April 21, 2017 - 09:30

We invite applications for a full-time postdoctoral research opportunity in our Western Indian Ocean seabirds and climate change project.

Thursday, April 6, 2017 - 12:30

FitzPatrick Institute 2017 AGM

Wednesday, April 5, 2017 - 15:15

UCT rated joint third in World University Rankings for Ornithology!

Thursday, September 29, 2016 - 12:30

The 'Hot Birds' team are pretty busy in the Kalahari...

Thursday, September 15, 2016 - 12:45

New African gamebird book by Rob Little

Friday, August 12, 2016 - 13:00

PhD student Davide Gaglio has been named as overall winner of the BMC Ecology Image competition 2016

Thursday, July 28, 2016 - 13:00

We invite applications for a full-time, three-month research assistant opportunity on our Hot Birds Project.

Wednesday, July 27, 2016 - 08:45

By following honeyguides, people in Africa are able to locate bees’ nests to harvest honey.  Research now reveals that humans use special calls to solicit the help of honeyguides and that honeyguides actively recruit appropriate human partners. This relationship is a rare example of cooperation between humans and free-living animals.

Monday, July 4, 2016 - 12:00

A female Martial Eagle from the Kruger National Park, who starred in Fierce, a British wildlife television series, has been found dead in a snare set by subsistence hunters in Mozambique. The bird was fitted with an electronic tag under the watchful eye of the British film crew, who were documenting scientists' efforts to stem the decline of these rare predatory birds.

Friday, June 17, 2016 - 11:45

The June 2016 graduation ceremony saw 3 PhD, 1 MSc by dissertation and 11 Conservation Biology MSc by coursework and dissertation students from the FitzPatrick Institute receiving their degrees.

Tuesday, February 23, 2016 - 11:30

Conservationists worry about the impact of agricultural development on Africa's biodiversity. But a recent study shows it isn't necessarily all doom and gloom. Some species, like eagles, can coexist successfully with agricultural development.

Pages