Search

Home > Fitz News > Current News
July 2017 graduation
Tue, 18 Jul 2017 - 12:45

The July 2017 graduation ceremony saw 3 Phd, 1 Msc by dissertation and 10 Conservation Biology MSc by coursework and dissertation students from the FitzPatrick Institute receiving their degrees.

PhD student wins 2nd prize at ZSSA
Fri, 14 Jul 2017 - 12:00

PhD student Tanja van de Ven took second prize for her oral presentation at the Biennial ZSSA Conference

Hot Birds project: Research assistant opportunity
Thu, 13 Jul 2017 - 12:30

We invite applications for a full-time 5-6 month research opportunity on our Hot Birds Project

PostDoctoral Fellowship opportunity
Thu, 29 Jun 2017 - 09:30

We invite applications for a full-time postdoctoral research opportunity in our Western Indian Ocean seabirds and climate change project.

Tygerberg Bird Club support Verreaux's Eagle research
Wed, 26 Apr 2017 - 11:00

Tygerberg Bird Club have pledged R20,000 towards Dr Megan Murgatroyd's Verreaux's Eagle research.

FitzPatrick Institute 2017 AGM
Thu, 06 Apr 2017 - 12:30

FitzPatrick Institute 2017 AGM

UCT rated third in World University Rankings for Ornithology!
Wed, 05 Apr 2017 - 15:15

UCT rated joint third in World University Rankings for Ornithology!

The 'Hot Birds' team are pretty busy in the Kalahari ...
Thu, 29 Sep 2016 - 12:30

The 'Hot Birds' team are pretty busy in the Kalahari...

New African gamebird book by Rob Little
Thu, 15 Sep 2016 - 12:45

New African gamebird book by Rob Little

Davide Gaglio wins BMC Ecology 2016 image competition
Fri, 12 Aug 2016 - 13:00

PhD student Davide Gaglio has been named as overall winner of the BMC Ecology Image competition 2016

Research assistant opportunity
Thu, 28 Jul 2016 - 13:00

We invite applications for a full-time, three-month research assistant opportunity on our Hot Birds Project.

Reciprocal communication in human-honeyguide mutualism
Wed, 27 Jul 2016 - 08:45

By following honeyguides, people in Africa are able to locate bees’ nests to harvest honey.  Research now reveals that humans use special calls to solicit the help of honeyguides and that honeyguides actively recruit appropriate human partners. This relationship is a rare example of cooperation between humans and free-living animals.

Pages