Staff & Associates


Below are the links to the biographies of the staff, students and associates of the Fitz. Because of the nature of the Institute and the people that constitute it, staff and students may be away for much of the time. While this has its advantages in terms of office space it can be frustrating, so, if you have difficulty reaching someone at the Fitz, please contact the Departmental Administrator.

Prof. Peter Ryan

Academic Staff
Dr Arjun Amar - Senior Lecturer
Prof. David Cumming  - Honorary Professor
Dr Susan Cunningham - Lecturer
Prof. Claire Spottiswoode - Pasvolsky Chair of Conservation Biology
Dr Robert Thomson - Senior Lecturer

Honorary Research Associates
Prof. Phoebe Barnard
Dr Rita Covas
Prof. Graeme Cumming
Dr Tom Flower
Dr David Grémillet
Dr Azwianewi Makhado
Dr Stephen Redpath
Assoc. Prof. Amanda Ridley
Dr Rob Simmons
Dr Ross Wanless

Support Staff
Gonzalo Aguilar - Principal Technical Officer
Michael Brooks - Information Systems Specialist
Hilary Buchanan - Departmental Administrator
Phelisa Hans - Library Assistant
Anthea Links - Departmental/Accounts Assistant
Rene Navarro - Information Systems Specialist
Shane McPherson - Black Sparrowhawk Project Assistant
Susan Mvungi - Niven Librarian
Vonica Perold - Project co-ordinator, Solar impact project

Centre of Excellence
Dr Rob Little - CoE Manager
Carmen Smith - CoE Secretary

Postdoctoral Fellows
Dr Diana Bolopo
Dr Anina Coetzee
Dr Susan Miller
Dr Megan Murgatroyd
Dr Samuel Temidayo Osinubi
Dr Petra Sumasgutner

Doctoral Students
Amanda Bourne
Christiaan Brink
Daniël Cloete
Ben Dilley
Carla du Toit
Selena Flores
Beckie Garbett
Anthony Lowney
Luke McClean
Carina Nebel
Nick Pattinson
Stefan Schoombie
Kim Stevens

Masters Students
Campbell Fleming
Laurie Johnson
Chris Jones
Kyle-Mark Middleton
Ditiro Moloto
Alexis Osborne
Abigail Ramudzuli
Miqkayla Stofberg
Rona van der Merwe
Eleanor Weideman

Conservation Biology Masters Students 2018
Kerry-Anne Grey
Sandra Hörbst
Amy Hoffenberg
Xolani Mabaso
Rebecca Muller
Thinabakho Ncube
Michelle Schroeder
Clara Steyn
Daryl van der Merwe
Olivia Venter
Joshua Weiss